So you had to take a breath test and police reports confirm you’ve been drunk driving. Now what? If you’re facing a third DUI arrest in California, you likely already know that it’s not good. And if you’ve been charged with a second or third DUI, then you know how much worse it can get. But what exactly does a third DUI charge mean? What are its penalties? And how do they compare to those of other charges when the prior conviction occurred?
Drunk driving crashes occur when intoxicated drivers have gone above the legal limit in alcohol consumption and have caused damage to motor vehicles and other property or injury to others while driving. If you’ve been injured in a drunk driving collision, it can be a long and frustrating process to seek compensation for your losses.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is probably one of the most common offenses most drivers make. By influence, we refer to any intoxicating substance such as alcohol, nicotine, marijuana, etcetera.
However, many seem to wonder if caffeine falls under this category, especially after the widely publicized case of a California man who, in 2015, was issued a DUI for driving erratically and later testing positive for caffeine in a blood test.
Driving under the influence is a crime and a terrifying one at that. Over time, drunk driving has been responsible for more deaths than any other violent crime. Therefore, it’s essential to be aware of the dangers of driving under the influence and how to prevent getting a DUI arrest.
A DUI (driving under the influence) offense in California comes with serious legal ramifications. If you’re charged with DUI in California, you’ll need to hire a good California DUI lawyer to defend you. A first DUI conviction can result in a hefty fine, probation, a suspended driver’s license, alcohol education programs, and, in certain cases, jail time.
Getting arrested for a DUI can be a harrowing experience, especially if it’s your first time. The impact of getting arrested for a DUI can include losing your driver’s license, having a criminal record, loss of employment, loss of money on court case, and possibly jail time.
However, all these can be mitigated when you have a great lawyer to help you plead your case in court. The information below can help you navigate your (or your loved one’s) way through the maze of criminal defense.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a dangerous decision that can have life-altering consequences. California DUI Limit is 0.08% BAC, and driving above this limit will result in an automatic license suspension of six months to one year, fines of up to $10,000 dollars, possible incarceration for up to 18 months (or two years if you cause injury), probation with mandatory drug/alcohol treatment and monitoring and community service.